Melani Shaffmaster setting

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (March 21, 2022) – USA Volleyball has announced players and staff on the 2022 U.S. Women’s Collegiate National Team (WCNT).

The team includes 38 of the country’s top collegiate women’s volleyball players and a coaching staff of seven, including three Olympic medal winners and two others with Olympic coaching experience.

Rob Browning, head coach of the St. Mary’s women’s volleyball team, will serve as the Collegiate Team’s head coach. Browning has assisted the U.S. Men’s National Team at three Olympic Games and has served as a consultant coach for the U.S. Women’s National Team over the last four years.

“I am honored to be given the opportunity to work with the USA Women’s Collegiate National Team,” Browning said. “To be in the gym with these remarkable athletes and to teach alongside these amazing coaches is a true privilege. Any time I get to wear USA and contribute to the success of the greatest national volleyball federation in the world, I feel blessed. I can’t wait to get going!”

Assistant coaches for the team will be Tayyiba Haneef-Park, Danielle Scott, Courtney Thompson and Carlos Moreno. Haneef-Park, Scott and Thompson won Olympic medals as part of the Women’s National Team and have moved on to coaching careers.

Haneef-Park recently joined the University of Oregon as an assistant volleyball coach. Thompson was an assistant coach at Stanford University during the Fall 2021 season, and now works as a Mindset Coach at Finding Mastery. Scott has coached teams in the USA Volleyball National Team Development Program. Moreno is the associate head coach at Arizona State University and played professionally overseas for 11 years.

Jeff Liu, now an assistant coach at Grand Canyon University, will serve as an assistant coach and one of the team’s performance analysts. Liu was on the staff of the U.S. Women’s National Team at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo where it won the gold medal. Annemarie Hickey, who works with the University of Wisconsin women’s volleyball team, will serve as the other performance analyst for the Collegiate Team.

Along with the WNT Open Program and the WNT Spring Training Camp, the WCNT is an opportunity for the U.S. Women’s National Team (WNT) coaching staff to observe and evaluate NCAA athletes with the highest potential. Several former WCNT members are now on the WNT, including 2020 Olympic gold medalists Michelle Bartsch-Hackley, Annie Drews, Chiaka Ogbogu, Kelsey Robinson and Jordan Thompson.

The 2022 Collegiate National Team will train June 19-25 at the National Team Training Center in Anaheim, Calif. Athletes will train among the best collegiate players in the country, watch the WNT training sessions, study the USA systems, meet with Tokyo 2020 Olympians and be observed by the WNT staff.

Among the schools that have multiple players on the team are Minnesota (4), Florida (4), Southern California (3), BYU (2), Kentucky (2), Ohio State (2), Rice (2) and Stanford (2).

2022 U.S. Women’s Collegiate National Team

Name (Pos., Height, Hometown, College, USAV Region)
Anota Adekunle (MB, 5-11, Humble, Texas, Rice University, Lone Star)
Erin Anderson (OH, 6-2, Provo, Utah, Brigham Young University, Intermountain)
Paige Briggs (OH, 5-10, Ortonville, Mich., Western Kentucky University, Lakeshore)
Kayla Burbage (OPP, 6-3, Clayton, N.C., University of Missouri, Carolina)
Claire Chaussee (OH, 6-0, Poynette, Wisc., University of Louisville, Badger)
Anna Dixon (OH, 6-2, Louisburg, Kan., University of Missouri, Heart of America)
Gabrielle Essix (MB, 6-4, Gainesville, Fla., University of Florida, Florida)
Skylar Fields (OPP, 6-2, Missouri City, Texas, University of Southern California, Lone Star)
Zoe Fleck (L, 5-6, Granada Hills, Calif., University of Texas, Southern California)
Sarah Franklin (OH, 6-4, Lake Worth, Fla., University of Wisconsin, Florida)
Grace Frohling (OPP, 6-5, Los Angeles, Calif., University of San Diego, Southern California)
Kate Georgiades (L, 5-9, College Station, Texas, University of Houston, Lone Star)
Heather Gneiting (MB, 6-5, Pleasant Grove, Utah, Brigham Young University, Intermountain)
Elise Goetzinger (MB, 6-3, Blue Mounds, Wisc., University of Kentucky, Badger)
Carly Graham (S, 6-0, Spring, Texas, Rice University, Lone Star)
Joi Harvey (MB, 6-4, Goodyear, Ariz., United States Air Force Academy, Arizona)
Amber Igiede (MB, 6-3, Baton Rouge, La., University of Hawaii at Manoa, Bayou)
Karrington Jones (MB, 6-1, Royse City, Texas, Texas Tech University, North Texas)
Taylor Landfair (OH, 6-5, Minneapolis, Minn., University of Minnesota, North Country)
Janice Leao (MB, 6-3, New Bedford, Mass., University of Miami, New England)
Chelsey Lockey (S, 5-10, Fort Myers, Fla., Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida)
Elizabeth McKissock (L, 5-7, Windermere, Fla., University of Florida, Florida)
Kylie Murr (L, 5-6, Yorktown, Ind., Ohio State University, Hoosier)
Gloria Mutiri (OPP, 6-2, Sand Springs, Okla., University of Oregon, Oklahoma)
Machaela Podraza (S, 6-2, Westerville, Ohio, Ohio State University, Ohio Valley)
Madelyn Robinson (OH, 5-11, Highland, Utah, University of Utah, Intermountain)
Adanna Rollins (OH, 6-0, Hutto, Texas, University of Kentucky, Lone Star)
Reagan Rutherford (OPP, 6-0, Missouri City, Texas, University of Kentucky, Lone Star)
Shannon Scully (L, 6-2, Huntington Beach, Calif., University of Southern California, Southern California)
Melani Shaffmaster (S, 6-3, New Castle, Ind., University of Minnesota, Hoosier)
Mckenna Slavik (S, 6-0, Geneva, Ill., Clemson University,, Great Lakes)
Sabrina Starks (MB, 6-2, Springfield, Neb., University of Pittsburgh, Great Plains)
Mia Tuaniga (S, 5-9, Long Beach, Calif., University of Southern California, Southern California)
Jenna Wenaas (OH, 6-1, Frisco, Texas, University of Minnesota, North Texas)
Kashauna Williams (OH, 6-0, Long Beach, Calif., Penn State University, Southern California)


Head Coach Rob Browning (St. Mary’s College)
Assistant Coach Tayyiba Haneef-Park (University of Oregon; 2004, ’08, ’12 Olympian)
Assistant Coach Danielle Scott (USA Volleyball; 1996, 2000, ’04, ’08, ‘12 Olympian)
Assistant Coach Courtney Thompson (Finding Mastery, 2012 Olympian)
Assistant Coach Carlos Moreno (Arizona State)
Assistant Coach/Analyst Jeff Liu (Grand Canyon University)
Analyst Annemarie Hickey (University of Wisconsin)
Team Leader Courtney Smith (NTDP)