This award recognizes individuals for success and excellence in volleyball coaching over a period of many years.


     Bill Kauffman


     Minimum of ten (10) years of coaching; Ability to develop consistently successful teams, as demonstrated by performances at the state, regional, national and/or international levels; Demonstrated ability to train athletes to their highest potential; Respond in a professional manner to the successes, pressures and disappointments of competition; Has shared his/her abilities and knowledge through participation in forums to educate peers.

Bertha H. Lucas Pioneer Division

Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach – Contemporary Division

Named in honor of Dr. Donald S. “Don” Shondell, seventh president of USA Volleyball, 1979-80, 1996 recipient of this award, an AVCA Hall of Fame coach and a 1996 inductee of the International Volleyball Hall of Fame.

Qualifying Criteria:

     Currently coaching or retired fewer than five years from the level of coaching that brings him/her this recognition.

1995: Dr. Douglas P. Beal, Al Scates
1996: Marilyn McReavy Nolen, Dr. Donald S. Shondell
1997: Linda Dollar
1999: Dr. Marvin Alex Dunphy, Dr. Arie Selinger
2000: Andy Banachowski, Dr. Carl McGown
2001: Elaine Michaelis
2002: Dave Shoji
2003: Brian Gimmallaro
2004: Mick Haley
2005: John Dunning, Russ Rose
2006: Dr. Taras Liskevych, Mary Wise
2007: Fred Sturm
2008: John Cook
2009: Larry Bock, Sue Gozansky
2010: Jim McLaughlin
2011: Mike Hebert
2012: Jim Stone
2013: Hugh McCutcheon
2014: Kathy Gregory
2015: Charlie Sullivan
2016: Mark Pavlik
2017: Bill Hamiter
2018: Anna Collier
2019: Pete Hanson
2020: Brady Starkey
2023: Jerritt Elliott