Named in honor of Nancy S. Sharpless, the first-ever person to be certified as an international scorer in the FIVB/USA, and who served as the chief scorer in the Games of the XXIIIrd Olympiad in Los Angeles, Calif., in 1984, and named as the chief scorer for the 1987 Pan American Games.


     This award honors and recognizes individuals who have retired from scoring on the national level and who have made significant contributions to the USA Volleyball scorekeeping program locally, regionally and nationally.


     Kim Williams


     Has contributed unselfish and distinguished leadership to the local regional- and national-level scorer development programs; Has officiated at the USA Open Championships as a USA National scorer for a minimum of ten (10) years; Has retired from active scoring at the USA Open Tournament, traditionally conducted in conjunction with the corporation’s Annual Meetings; Individual must be retired as a USA National Scorer for a minimum of three (3) years to be eligible as a candidate for this recognition. The Committee may make exceptions on a case-by-case basis for health reasons; Should be present to receive the award at the corporation’s Annual Recognitions Banquet.

1972: Edward P. Lauten
1975: Joe Kittle
1976: Alice Burton, Roger Burton
1980: Gloria V. Walin
1983: Irwin J. Carroll, Merton H. Kennedy, William F. Seebohm
1984: Harold P. Petersen
1985: Otto P. Gigone
1986: Laura “Shorty” Lindsay
1988: Nancy S. Sharpless
1990: Lea S. Wagner
1997: Joseph B. Sharpless
1998: Jane Morgan
2000: Shirley Koorhan
2002: Patricia Reese
2004: Frances Zelinkoff
2006: Dee Yoe
2007: Dennis Lafata
2010: Patricia Demers
2013: Janet Blue
2015: Jeff Hoppen
2019: Tom Sullivan
2020: Donna Friesen Wigton
2023: Lynne M Updegraff