COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Aug. 22, 2017) – U.S. Paralympic gold medalist Heather Erickson has been selected as a finalist for the 2017 Sportswoman of the Year Award.

The Women’s Sports Foundation selects the finalists based on their performance between Aug. 22, 2016 and July 31, 2017.

The winner will be selected by voting, which ends at midnight ET on Aug. 27.

Erickson was named MVP and Best Receiver at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro as she led the United States to its first Paralympic sitting volleyball gold medal. The victory improved the U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team’s ranking to No. 1 in the world.

In May of 2017, Erickson was named tournament MVP as she helped the U.S. Women’s Sitting Team take silver at the World ParaVolley World Super 6 Tournament in China.