COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 4, 2020) – USA Volleyball is saddened to learn of the passing of Mitch Stemm, commissioner of the Hoosier Region of USA Volleyball.

Stemm dedicated his life to USA Volleyball and making the sport a great experience for our members. He served on the USAV Volleyball Board of Directors from 2016-2019 and committed his expertise to USA Volleyball’s Regional Volleyball Association Assembly (RVAA) for several years. Stemm was commissioner of the Hoosier Region since 2010 and a member of the Hoosier Region board since 2005. Prior to his tenure with the Hoosier Region, he was a member of the Michiana Region board from 1985 to 2004 before the Lakeshore Region spun off forming the Hoosier Region.

Stemm had served as the Hoosier Region junior coordinator starting in 2005. He had been chair of the RVAA Insurance Committee since 2013 and was appointed chair of the ad hoc RVAA Safe Sport Committee from 2014-2016, two areas of importance to USA Volleyball’s short- and long-term strategies. He also was part of the RVAA Education Committee while continuing to serve on the RVAA SafeSport Committee.

“USA Volleyball is heartbroken to hear of the passing of Mitch Stemm, who has been a long-time leader of volleyball at the local and national levels,” USA Volleyball CEO Jamie Davis said. “He contributed greatly to the successes of USA Volleyball and had a passion for the sport and the next generation who stepped inside the white lines to play. Mitch was well-respected among the members in the Hoosier Region as well as those who he worked with nationally and was selfless in his pursuit to grow the sport volleyball. He will be missed as a trusted colleague and friend.”

Stemm, who began playing beach volleyball in 1979 and indoor volleyball shortly afterwards, was a Michiana/Hoosier and USA Volleyball certified official from 1985 to 2006, the same time period that he played on and managed adult men’s teams in the Hoosier Region. He served as commissioner of the Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) from 1985 to 1993 and on the NCAA Men’s Volleyball Committee.