COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 15, 2016) – The U.S. Men’s National Team will open pool play at the 2016 Olympic Games against NORCECA rival Canada and end with Mexico, according to the schedule released Wednesday.

The U.S. Men, ranked No. 5 in the world by the FIVB, will compete in Olympic Pool A, which also includes world No. 1 ranked Brazil, No. 4 Italy, No. 10 France, No. 10 Canada and No. 24 Mexico.

Pool B includes No. 2 Poland, No. 3 Russia, No. 6 Argentina, No. 8 Iran, No. 15 Cuba and No. 17 Egypt.

The United States will open pool play on Sunday, Aug. 7 against Canada (5:05 p.m. local time). On Tuesday, Aug. 9 it will face Italy (3 p.m.). It will play host Brazil on Thursday, Aug 11 (10:30 p.m.) and France on Saturday, Aug. 13 (5:05 p.m.). Finally, On Monday, Aug. 15, it will end pool play against Mexico (11:35 a.m.).

The top four teams in the two groups advance to the quarterfinals on Wednesday, Aug. 17. The top seed in each pool will face the fourth seed in crossover competition, while a drawing of lots will determine crossover quarterfinal opponents for the second- and third-place teams in both pools.

The winners of the quarterfinal matches advance to the semifinal medal round on Friday, Aug. 19 (1 p.m. and 10:15 p.m.).

The tournament concludes on Aug. 21 with the bronze medal match at 9:30 a.m. and the gold medal match at 1:15, prior to the Closing Ceremony.

2016 Olympic Games Men’s Indoor Volleyball Pools
Pool A: Brazil, Canada, France, Italy, Mexico, USA
Pool B: Argentina, Cuba, Egypt, Iran, Poland, Russia

20016 Olympic Games Men’s Indoor Volleyball Pool Schedule
All times local

Aug. 7
Italy v France, 9:30 a.m.
Brazil v Mexico, 11:35 a.m.
Poland v Egypt, 3 p.m.
USA vs. Canada, 5:05 p.m.
Russia vs. Cuba, 8:30 p.m.
Argentina v Italy, 10:35 p.m.

Aug. 9
Russia v Argentina, 9:30 a.m.
France v Mexico, 11:35 a.m.
Italy v USA, 3 p.m.
Poland v Iran, 5:05 p.m.
Cuba v Egypt, 8:30 p.m.
Brazil v Canada, 10:35 p.m.

Aug. 11
Iran v Cuba, 9:30 a.m.
Russia v Egypt, 11:35 a.m.
Poland v Argentina, 3 p.m.
Canada v France, 5:05 p.m.
Italy v Mexico, 8:30 p.m.
Brazil vs. USA, 10:35 p.m.

Aug. 13
Iran v Egypt, 9:30 a.m.
Argentina vs. Cuba, 11:35 a.m.
Poland v Russia, 3 p.m.
USA v France, 5:05 p.m.
Canada v Mexico, 8:30 p.m.
Brazil vs. Italy, 10:35 p.m.

Aug. 15
Argentina v Egypt, 9:30 a.m.
USA v Mexico, 11:35 a.m.
Russia v Iran, 3 p.m.
Poland v Cuba, 5:05 p.m.
Italy v Canada, 8:30 p.m.
Brazil vs. France, 10:35 p.m.

Aug. 17
10 a.m. Quarterfinal
2 p.m. Quarterfinal
6 p.m. Quarterfinal
|10:15 p.m. Quarterfinal

Aug. 19
1 p.m. Semifinal
10:15 p.m. Semifinal

Aug. 21
9:30 a.m. Bronze medal
1:15 p.m. Gold medal