Danielle Scott (left) and Holly McPeak (right) are among the latest individuals being inducted into the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 16, 2020) – Danielle Scott, Kent Steffes, Holly McPeak and Tim Hovland will be among a group of 20 volleyball legends and stars of the sport who will be inducted into the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame as presented at the Dorothy C. Boyce Banquet on May 20 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The USA Volleyball Hall of Fame honors players, coaches, officials and other leaders within the sport. The induction gala is open to the public and tickets can be purchased at usavolleyball.org.

2020 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Recipients (not including Junior Award recipients named March 15)
Jon Lee – Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award
Holly McPeak – All-Time Great Female Beach Player Award
Kent Steffes – All-Time Great Male Beach Player Award
Danielle Scott – Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player Award
Tim Hovland – Tom Haine All-Time Great Male Player Award
Diana Hoffman – All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division
Chuck Nelson – All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division
Cecile Reynaud – Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach Award – Pioneer Division
Brady Starkey – Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award – Contemporary Division
Joe Campbell – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Michelle Goodall – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Michael Blalock – Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award
Donna Wigton – Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award

In addition to the quartet of star players, Jon Lee has been selected as the 2020 Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award recipient, the top honor USA Volleyball can bestow on an individual. Lee has devoted over three decades of his life developing the sport of volleyball.

Scott will enter the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame as a Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player while Hovland has been selected as this year’s Tom Haine All-Time Great Player Award recipient. Scott is Team USA’s only five-time indoor volleyball Olympian. She won back-to-back Olympic silver medals in 2008 and 2012 in a national team career that spanned from 1994 to 2013. Scott was named Best Blocker at the 2000 Olympic Games and the 2002 FIVB World Championship.

Hovland earned was named USA Volleyball All-America first-team six teams from 1979-84 while leading Nautilus Pacific to four titles in the USA Volleyball Open National Championships during that span. He earned silver with Team USA at the 1981 NORCECA Championship in addition to playing eight years in the premier Italian Serie A1 pro league.

Chuck Nelson and Diana Hoffman will also be recognized as All-Time Great Players in the Pioneer Division. Nelson, who was a member of the U.S. Olympic Men’s Volleyball Team in 1964, helped Team USA win gold at the 1959 Pan American Games followed by a silver in the 1963 Pan Am Games. Hoffman, an alternate to both the 1964 and 1968 Olympic Games, won five USA Volleyball national championships as a setter for Long Beach Shamrocks.

McPeak and Steffes are being inducted into the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame as All-Time Great Beach Players. McPeak competed in three Olympic Games highlighted by winning bronze at the 2004 Athens Games with Elaine Youngs. During her beach career, she won 72 pro titles, including 19 international tournaments. McPeak also earned silver at the 1997 World Championships in Los Angeles.

Steffes teamed with Karch Kiraly to win the very first beach volleyball Olympic Games gold medal in 1996 in Atlanta. He won the 1982 World Championship in Rio along with 110 Opens on the AVP Tour. Steffes claimed 104 domestic and three international tournaments with eight different partners.

Cecile Reynaud has been chosen for the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame as the Bertha H. Lucas All-Time Great Coach (Pioneer Division), while Brady Starkey will enter the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame as the Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach (contemporary division) for 2020. Reynaud retired as head coach at Florida State University in 2001 with 635 wins in 26 seasons, which ranked ninth all-time in NCAA Division I history at the time of her retirement. She led the Seminoles to seven conference titles and 10 NCAA Tournament appearances. Reynaud, who was named USA Volleyball’s Frier Award recipient in 2016, is currently the national governing body’s board of directors chair.

Starkey has led Concordia St. Paul to nine NCAA Division II national championships, including an incredible stretch of seven consecutive years from 2007 to 2013. He holds a 550-65 record in 17 seasons at Concordia St. Paul. Starkey has earned AVCA Division II National Coach of the Year three times.

Joe Campbell and Michelle Goodall will be honored with the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award. Campbell, a national referee since 1999 and national scorer since 2000, has served on the USA Volleyball Rules Commission since 2010 and joined the USA Volleyball International Officials Advisory Commission in 2018. He was a World ParaVolley international referee with six Paralympic Games to his credit. Campbell currently serves as president of the World ParaVolley Pan America zone since 2012. Goodall worked full-time for 11 years with the Iowa Region. She has held several national leadership positions including chair of the Beach Assembly Administration Council and serving as a master IMPACT instructor and Coaching Accreditation Program cadre. Goodall currently serves as assistant coach of the U.S. Women’s National Sitting Volleyball Team and program administrator for Beach ParaVolley in the U.S.

Michael Blalock will receive the Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award, while Donna Wigton will be presented the Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award. Blalock served as a member of the USAV national referee rating team from 1988 to 2006 and was the national commissioner of the program from 1996 to 2000. He was selected to officiate in the NCAA Division I Championship from 1984 to 1997 and 2001 to 2006. Blalock was supervisor of volleyball officials for five different conferences from 1997 to 2002. Wigton was a long-time rater for USA Volleyball’s national referees and national scorers program as she helped bring on the next generations of officials. She served as director of the USA Volleyball’s international indoor scorers from 2008 to 2016. Among her highlights was working at the 1996 Olympic Games at kept score at every USA Volleyball nationals since 1985.

On March 15, USA Volleyball will add seven individuals within the junior volleyball community who will also be honored at the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Boyce Banquet.