Hall of Fame Generic Graphic

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 28, 2024) – USA Volleyball will celebrate volleyball leaders Jennifer Armson-Dyer, Doug Beal, Fred Buehler, Hugh McCutcheon, Kevin Twohig and Kevin Wendelboe at its 2024 Hall of Fame annual banquet and ceremony on May 22 at the Hilton Polaris in Columbus, Ohio.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will take place one day before the 2024 USA Volleyball Open National Championship starts at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. The proceeds from the event will go to the USA Volleyball Foundation to provide funding to support the Olympic & Paralympic dreams of the athletes in USA Volleyball’s national team programs. To purchase tickets and explore sponsorship opportunities, visit 2024 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame.

Armson-Dyer will receive the Dr. Neville A. “Doc” Booth Commissioner’s Award. Armson-Dyer was named executive director and commissioner of the Badger Region in 2019 after working for the region since 2011. She currently serves on several internal working groups with national leadership, is the RVA Central Zone chair, serves on the RVA Admin Council, and is the chair of the USA Volleyball Admin Council Compliance Committee.

Doug Beal will be presented with the James E. Coleman National Team Award. Beal led the 1984 U.S. Men’s Volleyball Team to the organization’s first Olympic gold medal. Beal went on to serve as the CEO of USA Volleyball from 2005-17 during a time of unprecedented success for the U.S. indoor and beach national teams. USA Volleyball also took over as the NGB for the Paralympic sport of sitting volleyball during Beal’s tenure.

Fred Buehler will receive the Wilbur H. “Wil” Peck Referee Emeritus Award, which recognizes retired referees who have contributed unselfish and distinguished leadership to local-, regional- and national-level development programs; have officiated at USA Volleyball championship events for a minimum of 10 years and have demonstrated characteristics consistent with the high ideals and purposes of the USA Volleyball Official Code of Ethics.

Hugh McCutcheon will be presented with the Harry E. Wilson International Service Award. McCutcheon led the U.S. Men’s National Team to the Olympic gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Games and helped the U.S. Women take silver at the 2012 London Games. McCutcheon continued to advise the national teams even as he served as the women’s volleyball head coach at the University of Minnesota from 2012-22. In 2023, McCutcheon was named a senior advisor to the FIVB.

Kevin Twohig will receive the Joseph B. Sharpless Arbitrator Service Award, which recognizes those who have served as an event arbitrator for a minimum of five years and a minimum of five USA Volleyball championship events, or a minimum of 10 USA Volleyball national qualifier events. Twohig has previously earned the Frier Award, the highest honor that USA Volleyball bestows, among other accolades.

Kevin Wendelboe, commissioner/CEO of the Carolina Region, will be presented with the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award, which recognizes those who have maintained a relationship with volleyball for at least 20 years; participated for at least 10 years at the USA Volleyball national level, with significant leadership service for at least five of those years and have achieved local, regional and national recognition through contributions to volleyball programs of the USA Volleyball and/or its affiliate organizations.

USA Volleyball will announce its remaining 2024 award winners soon.