Rico Wardlow
Rico Wardlow plays with the Boys U19 National Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 23, 2023) – USA Volleyball announces the 21 athletes selected for the 2023 U.S. Men’s Collegiate National Team (MCNT).

The team will train July 2-8 at the Anaheim national team training facility. The group is a mix of high-performing and high-potential NCAA athletes as identified in collaboration with the Men’s National Team staff.

Setters are Cole Bogner, Nicholas Slight and Henry Wedbush. Liberos are Cole Power and Paul Wysznski.

Outside hitters are Luke Benson, Jon Diedrich, Nolan Flexen, Chaz Galloway, Jackson Hickman, A.J. Lewis, Jalen Philips and Cooper Robinson.

Middle blockers are Vanis Buckholz, Nathaniel Gates, Bryce Walker, Rico Wardlow and Cole Young.

Opposites are Clarke Godbold, Kyle Hobus and Parker Van Buren.

Former BYU Men’s Head Coach Chris McGown will serve as the MCNT head coach.

“These young men have so much potential, and I’m looking forward to seeing the progress we’ll make during our training block,” McGown said. “We’ve got the added benefit of getting to train alongside our senior team in Anaheim and watch the VNL matches being hosted here in the USA. This will be a great experience for our athletes as they look to make the jump to the next level. I feel lucky to be a part of it.”

His assistants will be Donan Cruz of Ball State, Paul Carroll of Pepperdine and Jonathan Charette of Long Beach City College.

Roster for the 2023 Men’s Collegiate National Team

Name (Position, Height, Birth year, Hometown, College, USAV Region)
Luke Benson (OH, 6-7, 2002, Newbury Park, Calif., BYU, Southern California)
Cole Bogner (S, 6-3, 1999, Chesapeake, Va., Penn State, Old Dominion)
Vanis Buckholz (MB, 6-6, 2002, Newport Beach, Calif., Ball State, Southern California)
Jon Diedrich (OH, 6-8, 2001, Orlando, Fla., Purdue Fort Wayne, Florida)
Nolan Flexen (OH, 6-10, 2002, Rio Rancho, N.M., UC Irvine, Sun Country)
Chaz Galloway (OH, 6-3, 2002, San Diego, Calif., Hawaii, Southern California)
Nathaniel Gates (MB, 6-8, 2001, La Jolla, Calif., Stanford, Southern California)
Clarke Godbold (Opp, 6-5, 2002, San Pedro, Calif., Long Beach State, Southern California)
Jackson Hickman (OH, 6-4, 2000, Phoenix, Ariz., Grand Canyon, Arizona)
Kyle Hobus (Opp, 6-8, 2000, San Pedro, Calif., CSUN, Southern California)
AJ Lewis (OH, 6-5, 2001, Shorewood, Ill., Lindenwood, Great Lakes)
Jalen Philips (OH, 6-6, 2004, Anaheim, Calif., CSUN, Southern California)
Cole Power (L, 5-11, 2001, Huntingdon Beach, Calif., UC Irvine, Southern California)
Cooper Robinson (OH, 6-7, 2002, Pacific Palisades, Calif., UCLA, Southern California)
Nicholas Slight (S, 6-3, 2001, Storm Lake, Iowa, Grand Canyon, Iowa)
Parker Van Buren (Opp, 6-9, 2002, Cross Plains, Wis., Loyola, Badger)
Bryce Walker (MB, 6-8, 2001, Bartlett, Ill., Purdue Fort Wayne, Great Lakes)
Rico Wardlow (MB, 6-7, 2001, Bolingbrook, Ill., Grand Canyon, Great Lakes)
Henry Wedbush (S, 6-4, 2001, Manhattan Beach, Calif., Princeton, Southern California)
Paul Wysznski (L, 5-9, 2003, Chicago, Ill., George Mason, Great Lakes)
Cole Young (MB, 6-10, 2002, Powell, Ohio, Ohio State, Ohio Valley)

Head Coach: Chris McGown
Assistant Coach: Donan Cruz (Ball State)
Assistant Coach: Paul Carroll (Pepperdine)
Assistant Coach: Jonathan Charette (Long Beach City College)
Performance Analyst: Virginia Pham (Univ. of Southern California)
ATC: Cherryl Bueno
Team Lead: Kevin Moore (USAV NTDP)