COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 20, 2020) – USA Volleyball has launched its digital USA Volleyball Hall of Fame experience to celebrate the accomplishments of 18 legends being inducted as part of the Class of 2020. The digital experience can be accessed at

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony was originally slated to take place in Minneapolis on May 20 but pivoted to a digital experience induction due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The new format includes videos showcasing bios and acceptance speeches for the 18 inductees and how they helped shape the sport of volleyball whether as a player, coach, official or leader.

Highlighting the honors is Jon Lee (Spokane, Washington), who was selected as the Harold T. Friermood “Frier” recipient, USA Volleyball’s top honor for lifetime achievement. Lee became a leader within the sport shortly after his daughter started playing youth club volleyball in the late 1980s. Since then, he has held many roles within USA Volleyball such as 14 years on its board of directors and commissioner of the Evergreen Region. Lee helped found the Pacific Northwest Junior Girls Qualifier and laid the groundwork for USA Volleyball’s national background screening policy.

“Over the years, I have attended many Boyce Banquets (now the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame inductions) and marveled at the work of prior Frier recipients have done and what it meant for USA Volleyball,” Lee said. “These years in volleyball allowed me to be a part of a growing sport, seeing a part of the re-organization of USA Volleyball and rub elbows with so many people whose lives contributed to this great sport and organization. So this award means a lot to me and I thank you all. Thank you, USA Volleyball. Thank you, Frier Award committee for this recognition.”

Related: 2020 Hall of Fame Class | USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Page

Danielle Scott (Baton Rouge, Louisiana), a five-five time Olympian and two-time Olympic silver medalist, and Diana Hoffman (Van Nuys, California), alternate on the first two Olympic Games in 1964 and 1968, were honored with the Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player Award. Tim Hovland (El Segundo, California), a six-time USA Volleyball First-Team All-American, and Chuck Nelson (Santa Monica, California), a 1964 Olympian, earned the Thomas Haine All-Time Great Male Player Award.

Kent Steffes (Los Angeles, California), beach volleyball gold medalist at the 1996 Olympic Games, and Holly McPeak (Manhattan Beach, California), bronze medalist at the 2004 Olympic Games, were selected for the All-Time Great Male and Female Player Awards, respectively.

Dr. Cecile Reynaud (Tallahassee, Florida), former head coach at Florida State University, current board chair for USA Volleyball and 2016 Frier recipient, was honored with the Bertha H. Lucas All-Time Great Coach – Pioneer Division Award. Brady Starkey (St. Paul, Minnesota), who has nine NCAA Division II titles at Concordia St. Paul (Minnesota), earned the Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach – Contemporary Division Award.

Michelle Goodall (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) and Joe Campbell (Jersey Village, Texas) were honored with the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award. Goodall is the current U.S. Women’s National Sitting Team assistant coach with 11 years at the Iowa Region and working on various USA Volleyball national committees. Campbell has been part of USA Volleyball’s Rules Commission since 2010 and was an international referee for World ParaVolley from 1992 to 2014.

Michael Blalock (Austin, Texas), a national referee from 1988 to 2006 and chair of the USAV national referee rating team from 1996 to 2000, was chosen for the Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award. Donna Friesen Wigton (Tucson, Arizona), who earned her national scorer certification in 1983 and missed just one USA Volleyball Open National Championship until 2017, was honored with the Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award.

The 2020 USA Volleyball Junior Assembly Service Awards were presented to five individuals. John Nelson garnered the Outstanding Clinician Award, while Loren Paulozzi (North Olmstead, Ohio) was presented the Outstanding Program Director Award. Bethani Hincherick (Wilmington, Illinois) and Sam Nimpchaimanatham (Crestview, Florida) were chosen for the Junior Service Outstanding Female and Male Coach Awards, respectively. Kathy Ets-Hokin (Key Largo, Florida) was tabbed the Outstanding Parent Award.

For more information on the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame including past recipients, visit the Hall of Fame webpage.

2020 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Inductees
Jon Lee – Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award
Holly McPeak – All-Time Great Female Beach Player Award
Kent Steffes – All-Time Great Male Beach Player Award
Danielle Scott – Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player Award
Tim Hovland – Thomas Haine All-Time Great Male Player Award
Diana Hoffman – Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division
Chuck Nelson – Thomas Haine All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division
Dr. Cecile Reynaud – Bertha H. Lucas All-Time Great Coach Award – Pioneer Division
Brady Starkey – Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award – Contemporary Division
Joe Campbell – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Michelle Goodall – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Michael Blalock – Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award
Donna Friesen Wigton – Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award
John Nelson – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Clinician Award
Loren Paulozzi – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Program Director
Bethani Hincherick – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Female Coach
Sam Nimpchaimanatham – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Male Coach
Kathy Ets-Hokin – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Parent