Kaleo Kanahele Maclay
Kaleo Kanahele Maclay serves during the Tokyo Paralympic Games. Photo by Mark Reis courtesy the USOPC

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 26, 2022) – In honor of World ParaVolley Day on April 24, the World ParaVolley organization released its 2022 awards and honored several U.S. athletes, coaches and officials.

Those who were honored for Outstanding Achievement:

Kaleo Kanahele Maclay – A setter on the Women’s Sitting National Team, Maclay is a three-time Paralympian with two gold and one silver medal(s).

Monique Matthews – Matthews plays both outside hitter and middle blocker for the U.S. Women’s Sitting Team. She is a three-time Paralympian with two gold and one silver medal(s).

Brent Rasmussen – Rasmussen was a setter with the U.S. Men’s Sitting Team from 2003-11. He competed at the 2004 Paralympic Games and served as team captain 2004-11.

Greg Walker – Walker was invited to work with the U.S. Men’s Sitting Team in 2013 and took over as full-time head coach in 2016, helping the U.S. Men qualify for and compete at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Bethany Zummo – A libero on the Women’s Sitting National Team, Zummo is a two-time Paralympian and two-time gold medalist. She was named Best Libero and Best Receiver at the 2020 Paralympics.

Those who were honored for Distinguished Service:

Elliot Blake – Blake is USA Volleyball’s sitting teams manager and is in his 15th year with the organization. He leads the Sitting National Team Development Program and is always on the lookout for new talent.

Joe Campbell – Campbell currently serves as the president of ParaVolley Pan America following 22 years as a World ParaVolley international referee. He has served World ParaVolley in many ways. He was head of the jury at the 2020 Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

Eric Duda – Duda has played standing and sitting Paralympic volleyball and, most recently, won the gold medal at the 2019 World ParaVolley Beach World Series event in China.

Mike Hulett – Hulett, who passed away in 2019, coached at four Paralympic Games. He coached U.S. Men’s Standing Teams in 1996 and 2000. He coached the U.S. Women’s Sitting Teams to bronze at the 2004 Paralympic Games in Athens and silver at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing. Hulett won the 2012 Frier Award, the highest honor that USAV bestows.

Bill Hamiter – Hamiter became USAV’s full-time director of sitting programs in 2009. He has coached both the U.S. Women’s and Men’s Sitting Teams, but now coaches the women’s team exclusively. He helped the U.S. Women to their Paralympic silver medal in London (2012) and their gold medals in Rio de Janeiro (2016) and Tokyo (2020

Honorary Life Member

John Kessel – Kessel was a 35-year USA Volleyball staff member who received the 2019 Frier Award for his service to volleyball. He devoted his career to developing volleyball players and coaches in all disciplines, but especially sitting. He served as Director of Development for World ParaVolley.

View the full story and all the awards at worldparavolley.org