Tokyo Paralympic Games

The Games are almost here!

The U.S. women look to defend their 2016 Paralympic gold medal this year while the men are seeking Paralympic qualification in late spring. Get pumped with our one year out video.

The Paralympic Games represent the pinnacle of sport. In 1960, the first Paralympics were formally held in Rome shortly after the Olympic Games and have been held every four years since. Men’s sitting volleyball joined the Paralympic roster in 1984, and women’s sitting made its debut in 2004.

The U.S. women are the defending Paralympic champions.


Makuhari Messe
Makuhari Messe Hall A, the sitting volleyball venue


U.S. Sitting Volleyball Facts

Paralympic Qualification and Athlete Selection Process

Women’s Sitting
Has already qualified for the 2020 Paralympics after finishing second at the 2018 World ParaVolley Sitting Volleyball World Championships.

Men’s Sitting
Can qualify by winning the Tokyo 2020 Men’s Final Paralympic Qualification Tournament, which was postponed from its original March 16-21, 2020, in Edmond, Oklahoma. It will take place this spring.

Paralympic History

Women (Full History)
Gold: 2016
Silver: 2008, 2012
Bronze: 2004
Appearances: Four of four tournaments (2004, 2008, 2012, 2016)

Men (Full History)
Best Finish: Sixth place (2004)
Appearances: Seven of 11 tournaments (1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2016)